Garden Psalms

Ephphatha — be opened.

Dear Seattle:

20130904-150131.jpg

Seattle, you’re a truly marvelous city, shrinking the longer I spend wandering your streets, to a much more comfortable size. I don’t think I’m much of a city girl, but you smile when I tell you that and promise I’ll like it here. You have given me a taste for coffee and cod. Your Sound fills my ears and bones with wholesome mystery and a spirit of movement.

I’m not sorry I ran away from you, this summer. I know you weren’t really too bummed about it, though, being a city filled with people who probably appreciate you more than I do, and knowing it was you that encouraged my need for adventure and color. You’ve almost become too small. But that’s probably how it usually goes, how it’s supposed to go, how it just goes no matter what we want. I needed that farm, up there where I couldn’t even see the tops of your skyscrapers anymore. I needed the open highway, and space to run.

Now here I am nestled in your concrete suburbs, glad to have a Central Market within walking distance. Thanks for that. I’m not sure how long I’ll be here. But I guess I better learn to love you for what you are to my new eyes, now, my tired eyes, my rejuvenated-by-trial eyes.

It will begin here, whatever it is.

One comment on “Dear Seattle:

  1. Forrest
    September 5, 2013

    Seattle is a city that rewards people who get to know it well. I like your imagery, about how the town shrinks as you get to know it. 😀

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .